Maleness and Femaleness, Essentially

12Oct08

Cruising for new stuff on philosophy, I found this.

Earlier this week, I gave students a survey on the difference between essential and accidental properties.  For each property, students were supposed to indicate whether they thought that they had that property essentially or accidentally.

As one of the commenters pointed out, is this proof of the normaty of maleness? The women seemed to think that sex was more an essential property than the men did.

Admittedly, I don’t think I’m as hip as the people on this particular blog yet, so I’ll have to get my flabby mind round it a bit more.

No Responses Yet to “Maleness and Femaleness, Essentially”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

