Where Maturity Takes Us

30May09

I’ve been thinking of the woman that was Drug away from air force 1 earlier this week.

I couldn’t help but think that this could have happened to people I know, or myself, if we weren’t careful. Why? Because she lost control over her emotions and her drive and desire overcame her restraint.

Maybe we would not have gone to the extremes that she did, but I know for my own part that I’ve “lost” it when there was no reason to do so. Fortunately for me non of these incidents shamed me, as it did this poor woman.

I guess this is the point; to be aware of ourselves. To cultivate courtesy (learning to be polite is learning self discipline and restraint), to put ourselves in the other’s shoes. If the woman had done that, I doubt that she would have gone to the point of public humiliation.

PS.  Oh yeah, and the last point would probably be to understand and forgive others and ourselves when we can’t quite restrain ourselves.  We’re all immature in ways.

No Responses Yet to “Where Maturity Takes Us”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

